First International Mehregan Cyber-Feast • 2014 Mehregan Recipe Round-up!

Serving Pomegranate at Mehregan in Persian/ Iranian National Costume -- Photo source: FriendlyIran.com
Serving Pomegranate at Mehregan in Persian/ Iranian National Costume — Photo source: FriendlyIran.com

I’m back  from my 6-week, grand trip to Japan and am ending a 2 month hiatus!  Still shaking-off jet-lag to be active with my blogging again, with full energy.  I have a number of Japanese stories and foods to share with you and this will definitely happen in my upcoming posts. But first, I would like to share a privilege I experienced upon my return, which profoundly touched me.

A few days before I left on my trip to Japan, for the second time, after the Naw-Ruz recipe round-up, the same group of Persian bloggers  -now grown in number-  were planning to put together  First International Mehregan Cyber-Feast  featuring theme recipes by Persian food bloggers around the world.

It was an honor to participate. However, it was not feasible for me to contribute and pull my weight while travelling. I asked to be excused, and to participate and support in spirit. Upon my return however, to my utmost delight, I discovered that the team had included my blog/recipe in the round-up.

Mehregan – جشن مهرگان

Mehregan, festival of the autumnal equinox in September (celebrated in early October),  and the corresponding Naw-Rúz  are the two great annual pre-Zoroastrianism festivals of Iran. Celebrated in the Persian calendar month of Mehr /مهر‎, meaning kindness and affection/love, is also referred to as Persian Autumn/Fall Festival and Festival of Thanksgiving. Mehr month also corresponded to farmers’ harvest time. They celebrated, thanking God for giving them food to survive the upcoming cold months. It is a day during which everyone shows the mehr or the love they have for each other and is one of the most important days of the year.

¯˜”*°*”˜¯

Indeed, this group of Persian bloggers has shown me Mehr.  Although it is a belated post, I do not want to lose the opportunity…  I feel honored and proud to mention with respect, the International Mehregan Cyber-Feast participants.
Even if not in one sitting, please do explore these extravagant recipe round-up presentations, and get to know these exquisitely talented bloggers.

•   Ahu Eats   Badoom Sookhte Torsh
•   All Kinds of Yum   Jeweled Carrot Salad
•   Bottom of the Pot   Broccoli Koo Koo
•   Cafe Leilee   Northern Iranian Pomegranate Garlic and Chicken Stew
•   Coco in the Kitchen   Zeytoon Parvardeh
•   Della Cucina Povera   Ghormeh Sabzi
•   Fae’s Twist & Tango   Rice Meatballs | Kufteh Berenji
•   Family Spice   Khoreshteh Kadoo | Butternut Squash Stew
•   Fig & Quince   Festive Persian Noodle Rice & Roasted Chicken Stuffed with Yummies for Mehregan
•   Honest and Tasty   Loobia Polo | Beef and Green Bean Rice
•   Lab Noon   Adas Polo Risotto Style
•   Lucid Food   Sambuseh
•   Marjan Kamali   Persian Ice Cream with Rosewater and Saffron
•   My Caldron   Anaar-Daneh Mosamma | Pomegranate Stew
•   My Persian Kitchen   Keshmesh Polow | Persian Raisin Rice
•   Noghlemey   Parsi Dal
•   Parisa’s Kitchen   Morasa Polow | Jeweled Rice
•   Persian Spice   Fall in Love with Autumn
•   Sabzi   Yogurt Soup with Meatballs
•   The Saffron Tales   Khorosht-e Gheimeh
•   Simi’s Kitchen   Lita Turshisi | Torshi-e Liteh | Tangy Aubergine Pickle
•   Spice Spoon   Khoresht-e-Bademjaan | Saffron-scented Aubergine Stew
•   Turmeric & Saffron   Ash-a Haft Daneh | Seven Bean Soup
•   The Unmanly Chef   Baghali Polow ba Mahicheh
•   ZoZoBaking   Masghati

Mehregan 2014

Publications on this collaboration:
•  Iranican

¯˜”*°*”˜¯

61 thoughts on “First International Mehregan Cyber-Feast • 2014 Mehregan Recipe Round-up!

  1. Welcome home. Even though I know you had a wonderful experience, I’m sure it was also nice to step through your front door again. I look forward to hearing about your adventures.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Welcome back Fae 🙂 you have been missed xx I know Novroz from my Parsi friends in India but didn’t know about Mehregan. Thank you for the info. The feast from all the participating bloggers looks incredible!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Welcome back Fae. Your culture is fascinating to me and I adore Persian food. I have an incredible Persian place nearby 🙂 Looking forward to your travel posts. I also adore Anthony Bourdain and have dvrd the Iran episode. I cannot wait to see it.
    Love, Linda

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Linda. I’m so happy that you find Persian culture and food fascinating. I sincerely think so too. 😀 ))) I like to know what are your favorite Persian foods, and if I don’t have it in my Recipe Index yet, to include them for you. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maust-o-Khiar Shereen Polo Kabab Bareh Kabab Bareh Soltani and dough to drink. All require plenty of warm pita, basmati rice and sumac!

        Thanks for asking me about these dishes. Give me lamb and yogurt and rice and I am very happy 🙂

        Like

  4. Welcome back Fae! So looking forward to hearing about your adventures. How lovely of the group to include your post – very generous of spirit, just like yourself! So now I have a whole list of new blogs to discover – thank you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It is great to hear you have a wonderful time, welcome back. 🙂
    Also, I came back from Canada two weeks ago, it was once in a lifetime experience, we’ve been the glacier, the rocky mountain, the lakes and the scenery was amazing. I had a bad jet lag afterwards.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Welcome back Fae, so glad to see you and I think it’s wonderful that your recipe was included in that amazing line up of food for Mehregan. I am having so much fun looking at each blog and the dish they posted, most of them I have never seen before and will follow. Can’t wait for the photo’s and write up on your amazing time in Japan.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Welcome back dear Fae! Nice to receive your post. You’ve been missed! I actually checked in on your site yesterday, in case I had missed a post. Looking forward to all your culturally interesting stories and food to share.
    Hugs, Martine

    Liked by 1 person

Comments